responseakp.blogg.se

Can you reformat a promise pegasus2 r6 from mac to pc
Can you reformat a promise pegasus2 r6 from mac to pc






can you reformat a promise pegasus2 r6 from mac to pc

That arrangement wouldn't be as portable. JBODs will show up as individual disks when the device is plugged in and they can only be setup as a RAID if they're plugged into a RAID controller or if the computer creates the RAID with software. If it didn't have the RAID hardware built in, it would be considered a JBOD. If it doesn't it'll prompt you to partition/format it. Technically, it looks like a raw device to whatever it's plugged into. Once it's configured, it should present it's self as one storage device to whatever it's plugged into. This is a RAID cabinet so it has the hardware to handle the array management built-in. ĭo you have to install a driver under OS X for this device to be recognized as a single drive?ĭoes the RAID level in this device manage itself once it has been built without relying on OS X? I realize in order to initialize and build a RAID level, this device has to be connected to a Mac running OS X.The apple forums have people who claim to have put 4 TB drives inside, but I can't confirm, and of course they are rather expensive at the moment. So far it works perfectly, and it has the capacity and speed that I would expect to have. There is a mixture of two manufacturers (all 3TB drives) in the array, and although it took ALL night to create the RAID6 drive, by my second cup of coffee in the morning it was ready. The process was fairly easy, but the instructions didn't really consider the diskless version. I purchased and received an diskless R4 case from Apple directly in late December and put my own drives into it. So far I'm very pleased with the performance. I use my Pegasus2 R4 to hold my Lightroom Catalogues. Rewrote my post to more confirm what Rob53 wrote, with my personal observation. Originally thought that I was posting new information last night (I was so excited to share about the diskless version), but after seeing an earlier post from Rob53, I realize I was being redundant and not adding anything new.








Can you reformat a promise pegasus2 r6 from mac to pc